Symphony for Solo Piano
For Solo Piano
33 minutes

Modified version used as music for "Subterranean", a ballet choreographed by Lynn Cote and performed live by Haskell Small on the Washington Ballet's 1997 Winter Series at the Kennedy Center.

Available on:

Albany Records - Troy 413
Small's Symphony for Solo Piano is a serious and substantial composition that deserves a permanent place in the keyboard repertory... The Symphony is remarkably all-of-a-piece. One inevitably had the sense that Small knew where he was going and exactly how to get there. He was never shy about employing dissonance, yet it seemed only one more element in the vast musical cosmos at his command.
The Washington Post (Tim Page)

Sample Score Pages

Audio Excerpts

Lento mesto, Allegro energico (Excerpt)
Allegro molto scerzando