Transcribed for Orchestra
3 minutes

Published by PeerMusic Classical, to be released this Spring.

True to my name, I have always been fascinated with miniatures. An earlier chamber piece of mine, Twelve Snippets, consists of individual movements no longer than ten seconds each. Loosely following this model, Scraps is a grab bag of teeny bits of blues and jazz. Note particularly no. 10, a thirty-second fugue, and no. 11, a fantasy, both of which feature echoes of earlier ideas. A five-second coda serves as the work’s finale. Scraps was written for the Dutch pianist Marcel Worms as part of his multi-national Blues Project, and is published by Peer International in both its original piano solo form and in a transcription by the composer for orchestra.

See also the solo piano composition of Scraps.


2 Flutes
2 Oboes
2 Bb Clarinets (2nd doubling Bass Clarinet)
2 Bassoons

2 F Horns
2 Bb Trumpets
2 Trombones (2. bass trb.)

*2 Percussion Players

Violins I, II

*Percussion Instruments:
Triangles (medium and high)
Whip (slapstick)
Cymbals (optional- can substitute with large suspended cymbal)
Suspended Cymbals (1 large, 1 small)
Sizzle Cymbal (suspended)
Hi-hat cymbals
Snare Drum
Tom toms (1 medium, 1 high)
Bass Drum


Sample Score Pages